South Padre Island

Over spring break while all others were watching college basketball my family and I flew down to Wes Laco, Texas to visit my grandparents.  The first morning we were there the weather appeared to be favorable for the day so my Dad and I grabbed our fishing gear and headed to South Padre Island to do some surf fishing.  We don’t have much experience surf or salt water fishing but we used my Navionics app on my phone to narrow down a spot that was about a mile north of town where it appeared the was a ridge in the water that was close enough to cast to from shore.  We also did some online research on bait to use and locating spots along shore that may hold fish.

We used the typical setup for surf fishing down south which consisted of something call a high-low surf rig.  A weight is then attached to the line to keep it in the sand.  We used live shrimp on one hook and shrimp flavored fish bites on the other hook.

We had some great success.  We fished until noon and watched the sun come up while catching plenty of whiting.  I also caught a pompano and my Dad hooked into a nice 20 pound sting ray.  Nothing beats drinking some cerveza’s and sitting on the beach catching fish.  We took them back to my grandparents and enjoyed a nice fish dinner that night.  Great memories!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment